Posted by | Ray Cornelius

The first African-American woman to run for President of the United States, Shirley Chisholm, will be honored posthumously next week during the Presidential Medal of Freedom Ceremony. The White House announced her name along with 16 others who would receive the coveted award in Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Willie Mays, James Taylor, Steven Spielberg and Barbra Streisand.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. The awards will be presented at the White House on November 24th.

President Obama said, “I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor. From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

Check out the full list of honorees below:

Yogi Berra (posthumous)

Bonnie Carroll

Shirley Chisholm (posthumous)

Emilio Estefan

Gloria Estefan

Billy Frank, Jr. (posthumous)

Lee Hamilton

Katherine G. Johnson

Willie Mays

Barbara Mikulski

Itzhak Perlman

William Ruckelshaus

Stephen Sondheim

Steven Spielberg

Barbra Streisand

James Taylor

Minoru Yasui (posthumous)


Photo Credit: