Audra McDonald/Photo Credit: McBride

Posted by | Ray Cornelius

Broadway’s highest honor, The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards, were held last night at Radio City Music Hall and proved to be a BIG night for African-American performers.

Multi-talented actress and singer, Audra McDonald, made Tony history by picking up her sixth award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play. She is currently starring as Billie Holliday in Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill  and is the first woman to achieve that mark. She has appeared in such classic shows as A Raisin the Sun, Ragtime  and Porgy & Bess  and is slated to star in Night Mother  opposite Oprah Winfrey in 2015.

Atlanta-based director, Kenny Leon picked up his first Tony for Best Direction of A Play for A Raisin in the Sun.  This is Leon’s second time around with this show and was completely overjoyed by the honor. He is currently directing the Tupac Shakur-inspired musical, Holler If Ya Hear Me  starring Saul Williams, Tonya Pinkins and Saycon SengblohRaisin  also picked up two other wins including Sophie Okonedo for Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play and Best Revival of a Play.

James Monroe Igleheart picked up a Tony for his portrayal of the Genie in Disney’s Aladdin.  The 40-year-old actor, whose appeared in Memphis  and Bat Boy the Musical,  did a “church shout” at the end of this acceptance speech.

Other evening highlights included Fantasia’s After Midnight  show opener with R&B Divas Patti LaBelle and Gladys Knight, LL Cool J and T.I.’s rap performance with Tony host, Hugh Jackman and Jennifer Hudson singing “Neverland” from the upcoming Broadway show Finding Neverland.

Samuel L. Jackson, Wayne Brady and RuPaul served as presenters.

Check out a few photos from the evening below:

Gladys, Fantasia, Patti

After Midnight’s  Gladys Knight, Fantasia, and Patti Labelle/ Photo Credit: Facebook/ESSENCE

Anika Noni Rose Jennifer Hudson

 Tony-nominee Anika Noni Rose & Performer Jennifer Hudson/Photo Credit:

Kenny Leon 5

 Kenny Leon/Photo Credit: McBride

Sophie 5

 Sophie Okenedo/Photo Credit: McBride

James 5

 James Monroe Igleheart/Photo Credit: McBride

Click here to see the complete list of winners.