Posted by | Ray Cornelius

It was all about Black excellence Monday night (January 15) during TV One’s live telecast of the “NAACP Image Awards.” Many of our favorite actors, actresses, personalities and music stars were honored for their creativity throughout 2017.

Winners included “Girl’s Trip” for Outstanding Motion Picture, Get Out’s Daniel Kaluuya for Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture, Power’s Omari Hardwick for Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series and “Black-ish” stars Anthony Anderson and Tracee Ellis Ross for Outstanding Actor and Actress in a Comedy Series.

“Disney’s A Wrinkle in Time” director Ava DuVernay, picked up the fan voted NAACP Entertainer of the Year, William Lucy was awarded the NAACP Chairman’s Award and veteran actor Danny Glover received the coveted NAACP President’s Award. Several members of the Memphis Sanitation “I Am A Man” Workers were also in attendance and were presented with the NAACP Vanguard Award earlier in the week during a press conference at the National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, TN.

Other highlights included “Uncle” Charlie Wilson picking up the Music Makes a Difference honor, a soul-stirring musical performance by Oscar winner Common and Andra Day and a special #TIMESUP presentation featuring Ross, Angela Robinson, Kerry Washington, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Laverne Cox and Lena Waithe.

Presenters included Sterling K. Brown, Halle Berry, Mary J. Blige, Michael B. Jordan, Issae Rae, Chadwick Boseman, Terry Crews,  Yara Shahidi, Angela Rye, Danai Gurira, Isaiah Washington, Jacob Latimore, Jay Pharoah, Loretta Devine, Meta Golding, Michael Smith, Tyler James Williams and Mike Colter.

Click here to see all of the winners and check out more pics below:

The hosts from The Real

Omari Hardwick

Jussie Smollett + Jurnee Smollett-Bell

Halle Berry 

Charlie Wilson

June Ambrose 

Danny Glover 

Kerry Washington 

Girl’s Trip producers Will Packer Malcolm D. Lee + James Lopez

Issa Rae

Chadwick Boseman

Tina Lifford

Cast of “Behind the Movement” Meta Golding +

Isaiah Washington + Loretta Devine

Lynn Whitfield 

Tracee Ellis Ross

Anthony Anderson 


Mary J. Blige

Tiffany Black

Rutina Wesley

LeToya Luckett + Tommicus Walker 

Demetria McKinney

Jacob Lattimore 

Logan Browning

Michael B. Jordan

Niecy Nash 

Andra Day

Ava DuVernay

Photo Credits: Earl Gibson III/WireImage, Ziva Santop Photography