Posted by | Ray Cornelius 

TV One and the NAACP has announced that this year’s “NAACP Image Awards” will recognize actor, activist, humanitarian and philanthropist Danny Glover. He will be honored with the coveted “President’s Award” which is given to individuals for their special achievement and distinguished public service.

In addition, this year’s list of presenters features a who’s who of celebrity talent including Sterling K. Brown, Mary J. Blige, Michael B. Jordan, Daniel Kaluuya, Issae Rae, Chadwick Boseman, Terry Crews, Yara Shahidi, Danai Gurira, Isaiah Washington, Jacob Latimore, Jay Pharoah, Jemele Hill, Josh Gad, Loretta Devine, Meta Golding, Michael Smith, Tyler James Williams, Sonequa Martin-Green, Judge Greg Mathis and Mike Colter

Common and Andra Day are scheduled to perform their Grammy nominated song, “Stand Up For Something.” There will also be appearances by Halle Berry, Mandy Moore, Octavia Spencer, Chris Sullivan, Tracee Ellis Ross, Ava DuVernay, Jurnee Smollett-Bell and more.

The all-star celebration will be hosted by Anthony Anderson and will broadcast live from the Pasadena Civic Auditorium at 9pm/8c on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, January 15, on TV One. A one-hour pre-show hosted by Terrence J will air live from the red carpet at 8pm/7c with Tanika Ray as special correspondent.

In addition, the NAACP “Entertainer of the Year” will be revealed. This special honor is bestowed upon an individual within the entertainment industry who has achieved notable success in multiple projects and mediums. The nominees include Ava DuVernay, Bruno Mars, Chadwick Boseman, Chance the Rapper, Issa Rae, and JAY Z.

CONGRATS and stay tuned…

Photo Credit: