Posted by | Ray Cornelius 

CONGRATS to legends Diana Ross, Cicely Tyson, Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. All four of them received the coveted Presidential Medal of Freedom this afternoon during a ceremony at the White House. President Barack Obama awarded the quartet along with other fellow entertainers Bruce Springsteen, Robert Dinero, Ellen DeGeneresTom Hanks, Robert Redford and 12 others.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest award a U.S. Citizen can receive and recognizes those individuals who have made “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors”.

This is not the first time Ross and Tyson have been recognized for their amazing talents at the same time. The iconic film stars were both nominees in the “Best Actress” category during the 1973 Academy Awards. Ross for her portrayal of jazz legend Billie Holiday in “Lady Sings the Blues” and Tyson for her role as Rebecca Morgan in the film adaptation of the children’s book, “Sounder.” They both lost to Liza Minnelli for her role in “Cabaret.”

Past “Medal of Freedom” recipients include Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin, B.B. King, Oprah Winfrey and Sidney Poitier.

Check out the full ceremony below:

Photo Credit: Instagram