Posted by | Ray Cornelius

The 45th Annual NAACP Image Awards announced this week that actor, producer, director and 2014 Image Award nominee, Forest Whitaker would receive the coveted Chairman’s Award.

According to the NAACP’s’ website, The Chairman’s Award is chosen by the Chairman of the NAACP National Board of Directors, Roslyn M. Brock and is bestowed upon individuals in recognition of special achievement and distinguished public service.  Past honorees include Radio One Founder and Chairperson Cathy Hughes, Tyler Perry, Aretha Franklin, Bono, then-Senator Barack Obama, The Dave Matthews Band, and Danny Glover.

“Forest Whitaker embodies the moniker of artist and activist. His work in front of and behind the camera engages and entertains, and his service to communities around the world is truly inspirational.  It is my honor and privilege to recognize Mr. Whitaker with the Chairman’s Award,”  stated Chairman Brock.

Also being recognized for their outstanding achievements in television and film are Paris Barclay (the first African-American President of the Directors Guild) and Cheryl Boon Isaacs (the first African American president of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences and the third woman to hold the title). They each will be inducted into the Image Awards Hall of Fame according to S&A/Indie Wire.

The Television Academy Presents An Evening With "Sons Of Anarchy" Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences' 4th Annual Governors Awards

“I am honored to induct these two pioneers into the NAACP Image Awards Hall of Fame,”  stated Chairman Brock. “Paris Barclay and Cheryl Boone Isaacs are to be recognized not only for their own remarkable achievements in the entertainment industry, but also for their respective roles in opening industry doors to filmmakers of color.”

This year’s show is being produced by Reginald Hudlin and Phil Gurin and will broadcast live as a two-hour star-studded telecast on Saturday, February 22 at 9 p.m. EST on TV One.

Click here to see all of this year’s nominees.

Photo Credits:, and