Rufus and Chaka Khan #vintage

Posted by | Ray Cornelius

Indie Wire is reporting that Shonda Rhimes has teamed up with the legendary Stax Records for a 12-song album inspired by her ABC hit series, Scandal.

The CD is creatively entitled Scandal: Music for Gladiators  and features a bevy of ole school R&B classics including Edwin Star’s “War” and “Tell Me Something Good” by Rufus and Chaka Khan. Rhimes says the timeless music represents the tunes she grooved to while writing the show’s original pilot.

“During those four days [of writing the ‘Scandal’ pilot], the soundtrack of my writing was the funky, delicious music of the 1970s […] It’s the music that came after they killed Jack and Bobby and Martin and Malcolm […] t’s the music after Nixon disappointed a nation, it’s the music of the sexual revolution and the feminist movement.”

Check out the track list below:

1. War – Edwin Starr

2. Green Onions – Booker T. & The MG’sSongs from Scandal.jpg222

3. Everyday People – Sly & The Family Stone

4. I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash

5. Tell Me Something Good – Rufus and Chaka Khan

6. Get Down Tonight – KC and The Sunshine Band

7. I Believe in You (You Believe in Me) – Johnnie Taylor

8. Respect Yourself (RAC Remix) – The Staple Singers

9. Crazy – Bettye LaVette

10. You’re All I Need to Get By – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

11. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today – Nina Simone

12. The Light – The Album Leaf

Scandal: Music for Gladiators  debuts on September 3 along with the Season 2 DVD release.