Posted by | Ray Cornelius 

Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Ne-Yo has been added to this year’s list of the honorees for “The Trumpet Awards.” “The Wiz Live” star, whose first album “In My Own Words” turns 10-years-old on February 28, will be recognized for his outstanding contributions to music. Ne-Yo joins previously announced honorees filmmaker Will Packer and comedic legend George Wallace.  “The Trumpet Awards” will be hosted by actors Mike Epps and Nia Long and will be taped next Saturday, January 23 at Atlanta’s Cobb Energy Centre. It will air this year on Bounce TV.

Speaking of Grammys, CONGRATS to hip hop pioneers Run D.M.C, jazz legend Herbie Hancock and R&B icon Earth, Wind and Fire. They all will be receiving Grammy Lifetime Achievement Awards. Each year The Recording Academy honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording.  A special ceremony and concert celebrating the honorees will be held in the spring. Additional details regarding the ceremony will be announced in the coming weeks. Other recipients include Ruth Brown, Celia Cruz, Jefferson Airplane, and Linda Ronstadt. “The Grammy Awards” will air on Monday, February 15 at 8 p.m. on CBS.

Photo Credit: