Posted by | Ray Cornelius

Comedic actor Anthony Anderson has been tapped to host this year’s NAACP Image Awards. The two-hour show will air live on Saturday, February 22 at 9 p.m. EST on TV One with a one-hour red carpet pre-show beginning at 8p.m.

NAACP and TV One announced the big news on Monday along with a star studded list of presenters including Lupita Nyong’o, Tyler Perry, Octavia Spencer, Michael Ealy, Regina Hall, Arsenio Hall, Tony Goldwyn, Rickey Smiley, Lou Gossett Jr. and others. All-State commercial actor Dennis Haysbert will once again also serve as the in-show announcer.

Other highlights revealed are the nominees for this year’s Entertainer of the Year Award. This coveted honor goes to an individual within the industry who has achieved notable success in multiple projects and mediums. This year’s lengthy list of candidates include Beyoncé, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Idris Elba, Kevin Hart, Nicole Beharie, Tyler Perry,  Steve Harvey, Pharrell Williams and Oprah Winfrey. Fans will have an opportunity to vote for their favorite star until February 14.  Click here to cast your vote.

Also being recognized are Oscar winning actor Forest Whitaker, who will receive the Chairman’s Award along with Paris Barclay and Cheryl Boone Isaacs, who are both Image Award Hall of Fame inductees.

The NAACP Image Awards airs Saturday, Feb. 22 at 9 p.m. EST on TV One.


Photo Credit: