RC Exclusive - Ent RC Exclusive - Music

‘Black Music Honors’ to salute Xscape, Yolanda Adams and more

Chicago based television production company Central City Productions announces the 2019 Black Music Honors television taping set to take place on Thursday, September 5th at The Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, GA. During this star-studded two-hour television special, Central City Productions (CCP) will honor artists and musicians who have influenced and made significant contributions to American music.

The honorees for this year’s Black Music Honors include Xscape who will receive the Urban Music Icon Award for the platinum selling quartet group’s 25 years in the industry. Yolanda Adams will receive the Gospel Music Icon Award. Culturally-conscience eclectic group, Arrested Development and chart-topping crooner, Freddie Jackson, whose career has spanned over 33 years, will also be honored.

“The vision behind the Black Music Honors is to recognize the trailblazers in African American music who have paved the way for the artists of today. Many of these artists have never received their much-deserved recognition,” stated Founder and Executive Producer, Don Jackson.

Television and radio personality Rickey Smiley and Grammy® Award-winner and actress LeToya Luckett return as co-hosts of the show, which is set to air in broadcast syndication Sept. 14 – October 20, 2019. State Farm returns as the show’s title sponsor.

The epic event will be held at The Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre located at 2800 Cobb Galleria Pkwy, Atlanta, GA 30339. Doors open at 6 p.m. with the show taping at 7 p.m.

RC Exclusive - Music

October 15: ‘Black Music Honors’ on Bounce TV at 11 a.m. EST

Posted by | Ray Cornelius 

Don’t forget to tune into Sunday’s telecast of the “Black Music Honors” at 11 a.m. EST on BOUNCE TV. The night consisted of extraordinary performances and memorable presentations as Central City Productions paid tribute to six legendary artists during the second annual awards ceremony held at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center in Nashville.

The two-hour live television special was hosted by radio and television personality Rickey Smiley and actress LeToya Luckett. This year’s honorees included The Jacksons, Donnie McClurkin, Slick Rick, Guy, Oleta Adams and Jody Watley who were all recognized for their noteworthy contributions to the music industry.

With a high-energy performance that kept the packed audience on its feet singing and dancing, the legendary group, The Jacksons, brought the house down by performing three of their hit songs.

“Black Music Honors” is Executive Produced by Don Jackson and Produced by Michael A. Johnson and Jennifer J. Jackson of Central City Productions.

Central City Productions also presented a $25,000 check of the proceeds from the “Black Music Honors” to the National African American Music Museum, which is scheduled to open in Nashville, TN, in 2019.

The titled sponsor for the “Black Music Honors” was State Farm.

Will you be watching?

Photo Credits: Black Music Honors

RC Exclusive - Music

‘Black Music Honors’ to Salute The Jacksons, Jody Watley, Guy + more!

Posted by | Ray Cornelius 

Central City Productions will pay tribute to The Jacksons, Jody Watley and Guy during the “Black Music Honors” on Friday, August 18, 2017 at the The Tennessee Performing Arts Center in Nashville, TN.

According to the press release, the two-hour event will acknowledge the legendary African American artists who have influenced and made significant musical contributions to African American culture and American music worldwide.

Additional honorees include Donnie McClurkin, Slick Rick and Oleta Adams. The show will air on Bounce TV, Tuesday, October 10 at 7 p.m.  and is hosted by TV One’s Rickey Smiley and singer-actress LeToya Luckett.

“I am pleased and thrilled to honor some of today’s most influential and iconic music artists,” said Don Jackson, founder of Central City Productions and executive producer of Black MusicHonors. “The caliber of this year’s honorees speaks to the incredible impact, breadth and depth of the music these artists have given to the world. I am truly excited about this year’s show. From a legendary group like The Jacksons, to Jody Watley, Donnie McClurkin, Slick Rick, Oleta Adams and Guy, we are paying tribute to extraordinary artists from various genres of the music industry.”

The Jacksons are set to receive the Lifetime Achievement in Music Award; McClurkin, will receive the Gospel Music Icon Award; Guy will be given the R&B Soul Music Icon Award; Slick Rick will be presented with the Hip Hop/Rap Music Icon Award, Adams is receiving the Legends Award and Watley will be recognized with the Crossover Music Icon Award.

This year’s show will include special performances by Avery*Sunshine, Dave Hollister, Jonathan Butler, Karen Clark Sheard, Kid N Play, Latrice Crawford, Leela James, Marvin Winans, SWV, Da Brat, Sevyn Streeter and more.